Brew Review – Funky Buddha for dessert

More so than any other brewery I’ve followed, Funky Buddha really seems to like brewing ales based on desserts. By a lot. And I mean a lot. I’ve never had the opportunity to ask why, but it seems to be a signature of theirs. And they do it frightening well.

As I write this, I am in their Oakland Park tap room drinking their Pina Colada Wheat. And it is a fine beer, indeed. Funky Buddha makes a great hefeweizen, and however they added the pina colada flavoring makes it picture perfect for a hot Florida summer.

image

Others I have tried:

Rice Krispies Ale – This is one of those beers that seems perfectly fine, then all of a sudden from out of nowhere you have the unmistakable taste of marshmallow in your mouth. It’s odd, strange, and not altogether unpleasant. Once again, they make it work very well.

No Crusts – Otherwise known as ‘The Peanut Butter and Jelly beer.’ (Think about it, what do you take the crust off of? A sandwich.) I’m not as in love with this one as I was with some of the others I have been. It starts with a brown ale, and once again those flavors come through. It’s not the PB that feels odd as much as it is the J. Grape jelly flavor in a beer is just an odd thing to get used to.

French Toast – You smell the maple syrup. You taste the maple syrup. It is not a bad thing; it goes well with the porter base. Odd, definitely not an everyday beer,. Definitely a lot better than the one time I tried Voodoo Doughnut.

There is more than this under Funky Buddha’s sleeve. I still have my bottle of Nib Smuggler Chocolate Milk Porter ready to go. But that is for another post…

And by the way, if you’re interested, you can find me on Untapped at fluffygrimace.

Prost!
Florida beer blogs gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Brew Review – Funky Buddha for dessert

  1. Pingback: Funky Buddha’s Two Year Anniversary Party | Florida Beer Blog

  2. Pingback: Event preview – Delray Beach Craft Beer Fest | Florida Beer Blog

Leave a Reply

