Brew Review – Happening Now IPA from Cigar City, Rock Bros. Brewing & Kyle Hollingsworth

Dear Cigar City Brewing,

I am but a humble blogger. I am still learning the craft. I have an appreciation for beers, including fine craft beers. Especially your fine Maduro Brown Ale.

Please let me have my own beer. Please?


 

So, basically I picked up a pack of Happening Now. It’s a collaboration between three groups: One is Tampa’s venerated Cigar City Brewing. Second is Rock Brothers Brewing, a Tampa-based musician/brewer collective where bands get beers that will allow fans to connect with them in a completely different way. Finally, there’s Kyle Hollingsworth, homebrewer and musician with a Colorado-based band that has the second coolest name I’ve ever heard of, The String Cheese Incident.

Cigar City/Rock Bros./Kyle Hollingsworth collaboration Happening Now IPA.

Cigar City/Rock Bros./Kyle Hollingsworth collaboration Happening Now IPA.

That’s a lot to get through. I never expected to be able to try it, but luckily I was able to grab a 4-pack from my local Whole Foods. It’s an IPA, but meant to be a sessionable beer, so the ABV clocks in at around 4.5%. It’s pretty light, but still has the hop kick that I know Florida beer drinkers will expect from the brewer of Jai Alai…

One thing that really grabbed me was the can design. Until I looked at Cigar City’s release page for the beer, I didn’t realize that it was actually the cover art for Mr. Hollingsworth’s new album, Speed of Life. The beer, named for one of the songs on the album, was released in conjunction with the album. Cigar City’s page even has a link embedded where you can listen to Happening Now.

Because I can (and I think it looks pretty cool), I snagged the link from Cigar City’s page for the song. Give it a listen; it’s pretty good.

It’s good. More drinkable that many IPAs that have come my way. But I’d really like a chance to brew and can my own beer to see how it stacks up. Maybe? Please?

Drink Florida Craft,

Chris

@floridabeerblog

floridabeerblog@gmail.com

One thought on “Brew Review – Happening Now IPA from Cigar City, Rock Bros. Brewing & Kyle Hollingsworth

  1. Pingback: Brew Review – Sabotage by Coppertail Brewing and Cigar City Brewing | Florida Beer Blog

Leave a Reply

