Brew Review – Summer Storm Oatmeal Stout by 3 Daughters Brewing

A while ago I reviewed Channel Marker Red Ale by St. Petersburg’s 3 Daughters Brewing. About the only thing I found disappointing in the beer is that I was nowhere near my South Florida home, and probably wouldn’t be getting much more 3 Daughters beer any time soon.

Fast forward a little while, and 3 Daughters is starting to distribute statewide. Yay for me! Two of their biggest beers, Beach Blonde Ale and Bimini Twist IPA, are being canned and distributed as we speak, so hopefully I’ll be able to grab some of those soon.

Draft, however, is coming around a lot faster. Which is why I was able to recently grab a pint of another of 3 Daughters’ year-round beers, Summer Storm Oatmeal Stout (Stout, 5.2% ABV, 34 IBU). And I love me some dark beers, let me tell you.

Summer Storm Oatmeal Stout by 3 Daughters Brewing

Summer Storm Oatmeal Stout by 3 Daughters Brewing

Summer Storm is a bold, creamy stout with a rounded, smooth mouthfeel. But it doesn’t drink like a heavy beer. It’s only at 5.2% ABV, so its remarkably sessionable.

I will say, however, the hop flavor are a bit more pronounced in this one than in other oatmeal stouts I’ve tried. Don’t read through that and expect an IPA, though. The hop or hops used in this are interesting and light, so can some of my hophead readers please try a pint and let me know what hop that is? It’s lighter and brighter than many other hops I’ve tasted are. Whatever it is, it gives enough of a kick to sort of make the beer sparkle a bit. A remarkable achievement for a style of beers whose claim to fame is that light doesn’t diffuse through it.

I am excited to try the rest of what 3 Daughters has to offer. My pub had another of 3 Daughters beers on tap, but had just run out. But I shall have more soon, dear readers. Soon.

Drink Florida Craft,

Chris & Dave

@floridabeerblog

floridabeerblog@gmail.com

One thought on “Brew Review – Summer Storm Oatmeal Stout by 3 Daughters Brewing

  1. Pingback: Brewery Visit – 3 Daughters Brewing | Florida Beer Blog

Leave a Reply

