Brew Review – Session, Bro/Bowling Alley Blonde by The Mack House

I would love to have a brewery like Davie’s Mack House. Truth be told, I would just like the couch and video games that are up front.

So, yeah, I returned to The Mack House a little while ago to drop off my first homebrew for head brewer Justin Miles and manager Kyle Hatfield to try and give me notes on. But, naturally, since I was there, why not try a few new beers? While playing Donkey Kong Country?

First up was Session, Bro (IPA, 4.5% ABV), a very light, very sessionable IPA.

Session, Bro by The Mack House

Session, Bro by The Mack House

Honestly, it was far more sessionable and light than many other IPAs I’ve had. It might be closer to a straight Pale Ale than an IPA, but I will always acquiesce to their knowledge more than mine. It’s remarkably crisp, and the hoppiness is light and manageable. And fruity. the taste, and especially the aroma, has the spicy fruitiness that I love in good quality hops. I asked what hops they used, but I sure can’t remember them. Sorry.

The other beer for the evening was Bowling Alley Blonde (American Blonde Ale, 4.5% ABV).

Bowling Alley Blonde by The Mack House

Bowling Alley Blonde by The Mack House

This is easily one of the cleanest blonde ales I’ve ever had. It’s remarkable crisp and light, and there is the faintest hit of grapefruit. I think this is the most sessionable beer Mack House has brewed, and it is incredibly easy to drink. The beer also has an interesting aroma I can’t quite put my finger on, but it has an almost aged citrus feel. It’s the perfect beer for warm summer days.

Especially when those stupid gator things keep getting Donkey Kong. Ugh…

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave

@floridabeerblog

floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

