Brew Review – You’re My Boy, Blue! by Brew Bus

A little while ago, I wrote a review/comment about Tampa’s Brew Bus and their portfolio of beers, readily available at craft beer stores around the state. I also mentioned that I couldn’t get my hands on a can of You’re My Boy, Blue! (American Pale Wheat Ale, 5% ABV), their blueberry wheat ale that was apparently named after a line from a Will Ferrell movie. Never saw it.

You're My Boy, Blue! by Brew Bus Brewing

You’re My Boy, Blue! by Brew Bus Brewing

Before I even go into the taste of the beer, I have to mention the color. I wasn’t expecting this at all. I was thinking either a traditional wheat ale golden straw color, or maybe the dark amber of Abita’s Purple Haze (where the berries are added well after making the basic brown ale). Heck, maybe even a dark blue. You know, like blueberries.

Instead, this is the color I got. A big, deep pink, almost. Don’t get me wrong, I love the color. I think it’s beautifully vibrant color that immediately identifies the character and flavor of the beer. It even makes perfect sense from adding real blueberries into the beer, instead of using a blueberry flavoring. It just immediately reminded me of The Abyss, when they put Ed Harris’ character in that suit full of pink oxygen water to send him down to the bottom of the ocean.

A suit full of beer would be quite interesting…

As for the beer, it’s pretty good. It’s a pale wheat ale, so it doesn’t have the big fruit flavors and almost tropical maltiness that a traditional hefeweizen, like Brew Bus’ magnificent Are Wheat There Yet?, has. That’s a good thing; the hefeweizen sweetness would overpower the delicate, light fruitiness that the blueberries are bringing to the beer.

The aroma of the beer tends to favor the malt more than the fruit, but when tasting the beer itself, the maltiness and the sweetness from the malt/blueberries tends to be very complementary. Nothing really overpowers anything else and they sort of work together quite easily. There’s a slight roughness in the mouthfeel, but I’ve found that present in a good many ales.

I was happy that I was finally able to round out the different beers that Brew Bus cans and distributes (and yes, I wrote that knowing it’s all contracted out to Cigar City Brewing). Are Wheat There Yet? is still my favorite, and Double Decker is also magnificent, but You’re My Boy, Blue! has its place as an excellent, light, fruity beer perfect for a sunny Florida day.

And I’m going to go watch The Abyss now.

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave

@floridabeerblog

floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

