Brew Review – Pumpkin Spice Coffee Porter by LauderAle

Last week I had mentioned my recent visit to Ft. Lauderdale’s awesomely named craft brewery LauderAle. Of the beers I tried there, only one was not mentioned. I wanted to give that one a separate page, mostly because I actually got a growler so I could take it home with me.

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Porter by LauderAle

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Porter by LauderAle

That would be Pumpkin Spice Coffee Porter (American Porter, 6.2% ABV). In terms of the alcohol content, it’s not excessive. That’s a good thing, because there is so much flavor goodness going on in this beer that making it too alcoholic would almost be a distraction.

The pumpkin spices are very prominent when it comes to the aroma of the beer. It has just the faintest touch of that tangy sweetness that a good pumpkin spice mix usually contains. When you taste the beer, however, that’s when you really get the strong notes of coffee. Its a great mixture with the roasted malty flavors. And yes, that pumpkin spice mixture is still there, in the background, just noticeable enough to give the entire flavor profile a little lift.

And yes, I had to bring some home, where my beautiful wife (who loves pumpkin spice and coffee and porters) was duly appreciative and noticeably impressed with, what I think, was a deft blending of flavors I had never really considered in beer.

LauderAle is doing some really good things out by the port. And now that I have a growler, I need to get out there more.

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave

@floridabeerblog

floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

