Brew Review – A Flight from Motorworks Brewing

I always like when I get to report on a new brewery. Especially one with an interesting background.

First, I’m going to mention that I haven’t actually been to Motorworks Brewing in Bradenton. I’d like to. But I didn’t get there yet.

Second, I will readily admit that I assumed that the brewery was named after some sort of nearby racetrack or auto racing background of the brewers. Once again, not so. The facility was actually built in the 1920’s as an auto dealership, reputably for Hudson Motors in the 40’s and 50’s.

A Hudson Hornet. Knowing the style of the car goes a long way in looking at the visual style of the brewery. Image found on Wikipedia.


Apart from a lengthy and deep draft list of their own beers, Motorworks has plenty of taps from other breweries, a full liquor and wine bar, and food to boot. When I’m there, I will give a big report on it. The beers I tried of theirs, however, was done at World Of Beer in the Dr. Phillips area of Orlando.

Motorworks taps at World of Beer.

Motorworks taps at World of Beer.

The full flight of Motorworks beers at World of Beer.

The full flight of Motorworks beers at World of Beer.

While I was there, the four beers pictured above were on tap. From left to right, here’s what was available:

Cruiser Kolsch by Motorworks Brewing

Cruiser Kolsch by Motorworks Brewing

Cruiser Kolsch (Kolsch, 4.8% ABV) – It’s a very light and crisp beer, almost cider-like in its fruit aroma and tart crispness. It’s brewed with a lager yeast at ale temperatures to give it that fruit quality. The German hops are prominent with this beer; it’s got a pale ale-level of bitterness that really gives the brew some teeth.

Indy IPA by Motorworks Brewing

Indy IPA by Motorworks Brewing

Indy IPA (American IPA, 6.4% ABV) – Of course a Florida brewery is going to have an IPA as a prominent offering. This beer is interesting in that there’s a light caramel sweetness in with a big hop bouquet and flavor. They use hops exclusively from the Pacific Northwest, and they use them in such big quantities and so well balanced that this will be sure to appease aggressive hopheads.

Rollcage Red by Motorworks Brewing

Rollcage Red by Motorworks Brewing

Rollcage Red (Red Ale, 6.5% ABV) – Of the four, this was hands down my favorite. Red ales can go one of two ways: aggressively hoppy or caramely sweet. Rollcage Red definitely uses its Maris Otter and Caramel malts to create a smooth, sweet, rounded mouthfeel. It has a hop presence, don’t get me wrong. Chinook, Centennial, and Cascade hops are used to give the beer a bit of a kick, but it never aggressively dominates the beer. I’d hope to see this canned and distributed by me sometime soon.

V-Twin Vienna Lager by Motorworks Brewing

V-Twin Vienna Lager by Motorworks Brewing

V-Twin Vienna Lager (Golden Lager, 4.7% ABV) – I end on V-Twin for good reason; it was one of the three Florida beers to medal at the Great American Beer Festival in 2014. It’s a very classic, easy drinking, simple beer that delivers a big, biscuity, malt finish, showing off the Munich and Vienna malts well. There’s just enough sweetness, just enough bitterness, just enough kick that it would be excellent to introduce non-craft beer drinkers into craft beer. The medal was well deserved. I’d like to have more of this again, soon.

I’ll be honest, $10 for a flight is a bit pricey. I was happy, however, to try a fantastic and varied flight from the first production brewery in Manatee County. One of these days I’ll have to motor on over there.

No more car puns. I promise.

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave

@floridabeerblog

floridabeerblog@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Brew Review – A Flight from Motorworks Brewing

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Octoberfest Cities in Florida | Florida Beer Blog

  2. Pingback: Brew Review – Kumkuat Hefeweizen by Motorworks Brewing @motorworksbrew | Florida Beer Blog

Leave a Reply

