Brew Review – Good Gourd by Cigar City

I’m late with this review. I know. Better late than never, right?

Anyway, as my household tends to love pumpkin beers, and Cigar City is pretty much everywhere in Florida, it’s about time I avail myself of their seasonal pumpkin release, Good Gourd (Pumpkin Beer, 8.5% ABV, 35 IBU).

Good Gourd by Cigar City

Good Gourd by Cigar City

As you can see, Good Gourd has the prerequisite deep golden color. And when you smell it, the beer has a big, pumpkin pie smell. A lot of this, as Cigar City says, comes from the copious amounts of “Ceylon cinnamon, Jamaican all-spice, Zanzibar cloves and nutmeg” used in the brewing.

Taste-wise, this is a thick, chewy beer. It almost feels like a winter warmer; big, heavy, sweet, and with a high alcohol content that you will definitely feel long after the beer is gone. Yes, the pumpkin spice flavor is very present and unmistakeable, but there is a heavy malt sweetness that is just a touch stronger.

But I would love to try this on nitro. I’m sure that would be fantastic.

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave

@floridabeerblog

floridabeerblog@gmail.com

One thought on “Brew Review – Good Gourd by Cigar City

Leave a comment