Brew Review – Wavemaker Amber Ale by Big Storm Brewing

I actually appreciate the depth of breweries in Florida that take their names and themes from the ocean. It’s fitting; the ocean is such a giant part of Florida life.

One of those breweries is Big Storm Brewery in Odessa, FL (every time I hear that name, I can only think of Battleship Potemkin. It’s an old Russian film. Very pro-Communist. And a bit of a slog). I have actually mentioned their beer briefly before (it’s hidden in this post), but now that I have time to spare and a can all by myself, I can devote some time to a proper write up of their signature Wavemaker Amber Ale (Amber Ale, 5.6% ABV, 38 IBU).

Wavemaker by Big Storm Brewing

Wavemaker by Big Storm Brewing

First, the color is a beautiful deep amber, almost like cherrywood. The aroma is clear, more malt and biscuit smells come through than anything else.

The tasting of the beer is when the actual hops show up. For an amber ale, the hop intensity is notably big, a head shy of a weaker pale ale. I was a bit surprised about how big the hops were in the flavor profile of the beer.

The aftertaste is very much caramel and hop. Honestly, it’s almost like you took hops and pan-seared them until they developed a char on them, then dry-hopped the beer with them (has anyone actually done this?).

Wavemaker logo. Image courtesy of Big Storm Brewing.

Big Storm kegs are starting to appear by me, but it may take a while for the cans to make it down. I was glad I grabbed a can of Wavemaker, and a little bummed I didn’t get one of their Arcus IPA.

I’m sure the storm will come around again.

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave

@floridabeerblog

floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

