Brew Review – Smoked Swamp Ape by Florida Beer Co.

I actually going to dedicate this review to Jason Pennington, co-host of the KVJ Show on 97.9 WRMF. He’s a huge supporter of Bigfoot, and usually runs around with his Swamp Ape shirt.

So, Swamp Ape. It’s a Double IPA. I hope that I have made my views on IPAs well known. It’s not that they’re necessarily bad, it’s just that I have never really developed the taste for them. I will try them, I can appreciate a good IPA for what it is, but they’re just not my cup of tea.

After a rather enjoyable conversation with a fellow beer drinker about White Oak Jai Alai from Cigar City, and how the treatment can mellow out the hoppiness somewhat, I found myself able to procure a bottle of something I hadn’t seen before, Smoked Swamp Ape DIPA (Smoked IPA, 10% ABV, 90 IBU) from Cape Canaveral’s Florida Beer Co.

Smoked Swamp Ape DIPA by Florida Beer Co.

Smoked Swamp Ape DIPA by Florida Beer Co.

Okay. I’ve talked a little about smoked beers before. My general idea is that the smokiness imparts a great flavor, but tends to detract from the ease of drinkability somewhat. My big interest here was to see if the smokiness was able to cut a lot of the giant, aggressive hoppiness that a standard bottle of Swamp Are has.

For the most part, it works. The smokiness is light, but noticable. It’s got a great, sharp kick of woody flavors, and that brings the fruitiness of the hops out quite well. Yes, the hop bitterness wins your taste buds over in the end, but it’s much more gentle and much softer than any other Double IPA I’ve had.

Hop heads will really enjoy this beer. Definitely. And since I know Florida Beer Co. has a lot of weight behind promoting Swamp Ape, I’d like to see what other treatments of this beer they will release soon.

Drink Florida Craft (and Bigfoot is Real!)

Dave

@floridabeerblog

floridabeerblog@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “Brew Review – Smoked Swamp Ape by Florida Beer Co.

  1. Pingback: Brew Review – Ybor Gold by Florida Beer Co. | Florida Beer Blog

  2. Pingback: Brew Review – Red Rye Swamp Ape by Florida Beer Co. | Florida Beer Blog

Leave a Reply

