Brew Review – Raspberry Reef by SaltWater Brewery

As a craft beer drinker, I am excited to see restaurants in the U.S. embracing and even promoting the craft beer movement. Some restaurants advertise this fact, whereas others don’t mention it at all. That’s what I was so pleasantly surprised when I went to Bonefish Mac’s for the first time.

The menu is good, the prices are reasonable, and the draft list is huge. And local. Seriously, they have Funky Buddha, Tequesta Brewing, J. Wakefield, Miami Brewing, and SaltWater Brewery from Delray Beach. According to our server, the son-in-law of the chain’s owner is a big craft beer afficionado, and hand-picked the tap list at the restaurants. I wonder if he reads this blog…

What’s more, drafts are only $5, which isn’t bad at all. Even though I was heading to a beer event a few hours later, I decided to partake in a SaltWater beer that, strangely enough, I hadn’t tried yet: Raspberry Reef (American Pale Ale, 6% ABV, 5 IBU)

Raspberry Reef by SaltWater Brewery

Raspberry Reef by SaltWater Brewery

If you’re expecting something overly pink, like Purple Haze, this isn’t that beer. It has a nice, unfiltered haze and a moderate golden color. When it comes to the aroma of this beer, it’s unmistakably raspberry. The fruit nose is quite large. Sure, you can get a hint of some crystal malt and light hops, but it’s all about the raspberry.

Interestingly enough, the taste isn’t overpoweringly raspberry at all. There’s a light touch of the sweetness and slightly more of the tartness. That tartness actually blends very nicely with the light hop profile, and accentuating the bitterness just a touch. The beer is remarkably light, though, and can easily be sessioned on a hot summer day.

I’m happy that I was able to finally try this beer. I’ve seen it around a lot, but I just never actually went and ordered it. I’m also happy that I found a good restaurant with an excellent tap lineup.

I wonder if their taps rotate regularly…

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave

@floridabeerblog

floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

