Brew Review – Java Bear Milk Stout & Cucumber Agave Ale by Big Bear Brewing Co.

I would love for Big Bear Brewing Co. in Coral Springs to update their social media with when new seasonals come out. I love them so much, but I’m never truly sure what I’m going to get when I go.

When I do go, I’m usually very happy, though. Here are two reasons why:

Cucumber Agave Ale by Big Bear Brewing Co.

Cucumber Agave Ale by Big Bear Brewing Co.

Above is Cucumber Agave Ale (Golden Ale, 4.8% ABV, 10 IBU), a very simple golden ale brewed with organic cucumber and agave nectar for sweetness. The beer is incredibly light with just an light straw color and a crystal clear look. The agave is very pronounced in the aroma, moreso than any hop or malt characteristics. Drinking, the beer is  incredibly light and crisp. What I find interesting is that only when tasting do you really get the full flavor of the cucumber; it’s nowhere in the nose. But I love cucumber beers; they’re perfect for summer.

Java Bear Milk Stout by Big Bear Brewing Co.

Java Bear Milk Stout by Big Bear Brewing Co.

Java Bear Milk Stout (Milk Stout, 6% ABV, 25 IBU), on the other hand, is most definitely not a hot weather beer, but boy is it incredible. There’s lactose, to be sure, but then they aged the beer on vanilla beans and coffee beans. And, as if they really needed to make me love the sound of this beer any more, they poured it on nitro.

If you’ve ever been to Arby’s and gotten a Jamocha shake, you know very close to what this beer is like. It’s that good.

Creamy in all the right places, not too strong, wonderfully sweet, basically this beer is dangerous because of how inviting it is. And, with only 6% alcohol, those with a sweet tooth can easily session this if they wanted to. I personally would have no problem with that.

See? That, in a nutshell, is why I enjoy going back to Big Bear on a regular basis. The food is pretty darn good, too.

But please tell me when new stuff arrives!

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave

@floridabeerblog

floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

