Brew Review – Cap’t. Jack’s Stone Crab Stout by Coppertail and Tequesta Brewing

This beer could have killed me.
Literally. I’m allergic to shellfish, so this beer might have killed me. My wife was a little concerned for my safety, because she’s wonderful like that, but I told her I’ll be fine with the sampler amount that I had.
Let me backtrack a bit. This was a collaboration beer between two breweries I had no idea were as close as they were: Coppertail Brewing in Tampa and Tequesta Brewing in Tequesta. It was Tequesta’s legendary owner Fran Andrewlevich that told me of their collaboration, and how 200 lbs of actual stone crab stewed in this beer to give it the signature flavor it enjoys.

As for the name, no. It’s not named for a particular movie character you may know. It’s named for an actual Captain Jack, a good friend of both breweries who operates a fishing boat in Tampa. The illustration on the bottle of Cap’n Jack’s Stone Crab (Stout, 8.3% ABV) is totally him.
Cap't. Jack's Stone Crab Stout by Coppertail and Tequesta Brewing

Cap’t. Jack’s Stone Crab Stout by Coppertail and Tequesta Brewing

The beer inside is totally delicious. It has a rich smoothness that I loved, soft and bold with dark roasted malt qualities. There’s a strength there, however, that makes this a little bolder, which is nice.
I do have to address the crab, which was not as intense and frightening as I has originally thought it might be. It’s remarkably light, but there’s no mistaking that seafood meatiness that rests on the back of your palate after drinking. I was also told the crab really comes through when it warms.
If you’re frightened of the fishy qualities of this beer, don’t be. It’s light, and it does wonders blending well with the dark malt character. I would love to see more collaborations between these two breweries if they can combine to make a beer this good.
Preferably one that doesn’t carry the risk of anaphylactic shock.
Drink Florida Craft,
Dave
3 thoughts on “Brew Review – Cap’t. Jack’s Stone Crab Stout by Coppertail and Tequesta Brewing

  1. Pingback: Brew Review – Snook Season Session IPA by Crazy Dingo Brewing | Florida Beer Blog

  2. Pingback: Brew Review – Seasonal Relief by Coppertail Brewing | Florida Beer Blog

Leave a Reply

