Brew Review – Toasted Nut by Crazy Dingo

I understand the reference Crazy Dingo is trying to go for. I really do. But I haven’t been getting much sleep lately, and that’s how I’m going to identify with the image on the bottle of Toasted Nut Hazelnut Brown (Brown Ale, 4.5% ABV, 18 IBU).

image

But I digress. I love brown ales. I really do. And that nut isn’t any nut, but a hazelnut. It’s a wonder more breweries don’t make hazelnut brown ales. Sure, some breweries do, but you’re more likely to find a brewery making a coffee porter than a wonderful elixir of nut flavors than this beer. 

To start with, the aroma is reminiscent of taking a nose dive into a jar of Nutella. It’s incredibly bold and wonderfully sweet, especially after pouring. The beer isn’t as sweet, which should calm those of you expecting this to turn into a milkshake. 

The moderate toasted and light caramel flavors take more precedence in the flavor of the beer. There’s a light sweetness, very little trace of hops, and a deep, mature roasted quality to the beer. 

That’s what I’m going to stick with. Not going into any goofy humor which is, admittedly, easy to make with the name of this beer. I am taking the high road, thank you very much. 

And them I’m going to sleep. 

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave
@floridabeerblog
floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

