Brew Review – Undbeck’s Oktoberfest by Funky Buddha

I know there’s a reason that Funky Buddha named their Dortmunder Undbeck’s Oktoberfest (Dortmunder, 6% ABV). I know this. I don’t know what it is, but I will find it. I’m sure there’s some sort of pop culture reference in there, but it’s not going to prevent me from enjoying a great fall beer.

image

Undbeck's Oktoberfest by Funky Buddha Brewery

What’s interesting is that there’s a relatively light feel to the beer. Not that these are generally heavy, chewy, and dark beers, but the dortmunder is a little more light, with a dark straw color and a faux-citrus effervescence that makes a surprisingly 6% alcohol beer easy to drink.

It’s got a hop character that is just a touch about light. It’s not heavy, it’s not a pale ale, it’s not a killer. But the malt has to make room for a more moderate hop character. It’s an interesting twist in a season known more for malt sweetness than hop bang.

Funky also has the cool, traditional dimpled mugs, but I didn’t get a chance to get one of those. Besides, it’s the beer that matters and this beer I particularly enjoyed.

A lot more than I did trying to figure out the name…

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave
@floridabeerblog
floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

