Brew Review – Que Melones & Piñazo by Descarga Brewing

To: Manny Jannes, Descarga Brewing Co.

Dear Manny,

I have a bone to pick with you, Mr. Doubter person you.

You assumed that I can’t hack some of your beers. You assumed that I’m too weak to drink everything you brew. And in case you don’t remember, let me jog your memory…

A few weeks ago, you and your crew were at the 2015 New Times Beerfest in Ft. Lauderdale. You brought a few beers with you. I started with Que Melones (Witbier, 5% ABV), which was excellent.

Que Melones by Descarga Brewing

Que Melones by Descarga Brewing

I like witbiers. They’re light, crisp, and quite tasty. But adding watermelon and basil? that’s quite good it’s got a light sweetness and a very faint, but noticeable basil, floral undercurrent. It wasn’t as syrupy sweet as it could have been and what I was expecting.

It’s good stuff. Very refreshing. But I didn’t stop there, did I? No, you had me also try Piñazo (Witbier, 5.2% ABV) as well.

Piñazo by Descarga Brewing

Piñazo by Descarga Brewing

So you put pineapple in the beer. That was good. It’s nice and sweet and goes well with the bright wheat flavors. But you know what else you did.

You also added scotch bonnet peppers.

You added one of the hottest pepper on earth to your beer.

And you laughed at me when I coughed as I drank it.

Sorry, Mr. Man, but I don’t expect to get lava burns when I drink my beers. It was flavorful, it had a great rounded flavor with a marvelous roughhewn mouthfeel, and with a slight shot of molten metal.

But don’t you for one second think that I can’t take the heat. I totally can. You brew the hottest beer you can, and I guarantee I’ll be there ready to drink it down. Consider this a challenge Manny. I can drink your hottest beers as long as I can have 3 times that amount in ice cold milk directly afterward because I’m awesome like that.

Yeah.

Drink Florida Craft and hope Manny never reads this article,

Dave

@floridabeerblog

floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

