Brew Review – Brass Dunkel, That Funky Dunkel by Due South Brewing

And yea, it does continue, I shall search high and low, near and far, for mine ears do perk and my appetite doth whet for the dunkelweisen.

I. Love. Dunkelweizens. If you haven’t heard the term before, it’s basically a dark wheat beer. A hefeweizen where the barley portion of the malt bill is roasted longer and darker than usual.

It’s also not a style I usually find around Florida. With all of the breweries I’ve been to and Florida beers I’ve tried, I’ve had precisely two.

Add a third to that list with Brass Dunkel, That Funky Dunkel (Dunkelweizen, 5.1% ABV) from Due South Brewing.

image

Brass Dunkel by Due South Brewing

Of course, I’m not going to mention the fact that “dunkel” and “monkey” don’t rhyme. I’ll just let the obvious Beastie Boys reference float around in your heads.

I frankly don’t care because the beer is fantastic. This is really everything I could have hoped for in a classic dunkel. The color is a rich, vibrant brown, showcasing an expert blend of light and dark malts. The aroma has a lot of vibrant hefeweizen spice, but maybe a bit less fruit-forward esters. That’s really not a bad thing.

The taste is wonderfully buoyant and very light. The sweetness from the malts is very much at play, and the extra roast in the barley gives it a great, slightly deeper flavor. It’s not so dark and coffee-esque, but it’s lit a light, fruity hefeweizen, either.

It’s a great beer and I’m waiting for Due South to put this into 6-packs and send me some each month as, um, some sort of appreciation or something.

Or else I complain about the whole rhyming thing.

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave

@floridabeerblog
floridabeerblog@gmail.com
floridacraftbeerday.weebly.com

P.S. watch me get some sort of pronunciation horribly wrong and they’re correct and I’m wrong.

Leave a Reply

