Brew Review – Oats in Hose by Big Storm Brewing @bigstormbrewing

What is the hose?

Hot on the heels of opening up another tap room, releasing another canned year-round beer, and expanding state-wide distribution, Pasco County’s brewing darling Big Storm Brewing is getting around to releasing their seasonals in cans as well. 

The first one I got my hands on, luckily enough for me, was Oats in Hose (Oatmeal Stout, 6.5% ABV, 17 IBU). It’s the one I really wanted to get my hands on, which made me happy. But I just don’t get the name.

image

Worth the wait, too. The base stout is deliciously dark with big notes of cocoa and dark brown sugar. The aroma is big a malty with a light nutty quality.

It’s smooth and creamy, and the mouthfeel is soft and velvety with the addition of 50 lbs. of oatmeal. It’s rich and so incredibly sweet and creamy.

It’s such a fantastic beer and it’s a shame it’s only seasonal. But the name. I just don’t get it.

What is the hose?

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave
@floridabeerblog
floridabeerblog@gmail.com
floridacraftbeerday.com

Leave a Reply

