Brew Reviews – Red Cypress Brewing @redcypressbeer

I have to thank two people for making this post happen: One would be Ryan Parker, CEO, General Manager, and all around good person at Orlando’s Red Cypress Brewery. I interviewed him a few months ago, but never knew if and when I would be able to get up to RC to try some of their brews.

image

The other would be Mike from At The Bar podcast, based in Orlando and who also came down to my neck of the woods recently to do some visits with area breweries.

And since Mike came down, he was able to grab a few growlers from Ryan for me. I finally got to try some Red Cypress.

Very much worth the wait. Let’s see what we have:

image

Carl (IPA, 7.8% ABV, 30 IBU) – I don’t know who Carl is. I can only assume Carl is an orange grove due to the intensely juicy citrus flavors in this Northeast-style IPA. The hops (Mosaic, Galaxy, and Azacca) are incredibly sweet and fruity, and bring a moderate bitterness and giant citrus explosion to the beer. The backbone of the beer is provided by a light mixture of oat, wheat, and pilsner malts to nice effect.

image

Deep Roots (Red Ale, 4.5% ABV, 20 IBU) – A pretty tasty concoction; this red ale has a light hoppiness but a much stronger malt sweetness. Incredibly deep and delicious, this red ale has a bracing blend of bready and caramel flavors. Easily drinkable and wonderfully flavorful.

image

Last Resort (Belgian Strong, 9% ABV, 20 IBU) – I’ve had Belgian Strong ales before, and they do tend to be a bit sweet. Drinking Last Resort, however, felt a bit different. It had a sweetness, to be sure, but it wasn’t a malty sweetness. There was a fruity facet to it. Reading about the beer, I found that it was hopped with Huell Melon, a hop i’m getting very interested in. Knowing that was the hop used in the beer really made it clear why I tasted the fruit flavors in the beer. It was incredibly delicious and had a wonderful added dimension to it.

It’s a shame that the brewery is just so far away. I’m not really sure when I can get up to O-Town again, but it looks like I’ll need to stop by to try more (including Death Roll; it’s a shame Nitro beers can’t be transported).

And talk to Carl.

Drink Florida Craft,
Dave
@floridabeerblog
floridabeerblog@gmail.com
floridacraftbeerday.com

Leave a Reply

