Brew Reviews – Summitennial & La Fayette Von Blanc by 3 Daughters Brewing @3dbrewing

​I know what a summit is, obviously. But as for a Lafayette Von Blanc, the most I can figure is that 3 Daughters has been listening to Hamilton just a bit too much. 

So 3 Daughters’ bomber game is strong. And I still have a few to get through, but I cleaned out a few recently and they were quite yummy. 

Up first is Summitennial Double IPA (Imperial IPA, 9% ABV, 103 IBU) It’s nicely hoppy and more herbal than citric. I’m also a little shocked that the bitterness is in triple digits. The beer drinks significantly smoother and softer than that. I’m used to DIPAs being a jump away from gasoline, and this beer was much easier to drink. 

From there, I went to La Fayette Von Blanc (Saison, 5.9% ABV). Part of the rapidly growing barrel program they have, La Fayette is a saison aged in Chardonnay barrels. It has a great wine feel, and honestly, has a great blend of deep, dry Chardonnay flavors and a bright, peppy, malty body. Quite nice, and I hope more wine barrels are on the way since this beer needs to be a regular in the 3D tap room. 

And I still have a few more bombers to go, including their Irish Stout (!) and another one I can’t quite talk about just yet. Sad thing is you have to go to St. Pete to get them, so maybe it’s an excuse for a road trip!

And I can listen to Hamilton the entire drive there. 

Again. 

Drink Florida Craft, 

Dave

@floridabeerblog

Floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Floridacraftbeerday.com 

Leave a Reply

