Brew Review – Nut Sack Double Nut Brown by Engine 15 Brewing @engine15brewing

​As much as I would love to talk about the depth and quality of beers coming from North Florida, and Jacksonville in particular, it all pales in comparison to the label for Engine 15’s Nut Sack Double Nut Brown (Imperial Brown Ale, 7.1% ABV 26 IBU). 

Seriously. I thought the name was bad. I was wrong. 

Keep in mind that this is one of my favorite, if not my favorite, brown ales from the state. But there’s very little I can truly write about without sliding down a slippery slope of suggestive innuendo that I just don’t want here. 

But it’s so easy to do. 

I mean, I can talk at length about how rolling the beer around in your mouth is wonderful, getting all sorts of caramel and nut notes from an enormous malt bill with just a touch of Noble hops. There’s at least three really dirty double entendres I could have made in that single sentence there, though. 

It has a deep and satisfying flavor that is strong, but still velvety smooth. It never seems sticky or cloying, but nicely bready with a big nut quality (At least 5 more there).

I’m happy that it’s finally getting a wider release, but that release needs to spread a bit wider and go down south deeper so I can grab a few bottles closer to me. 

But I will resist the temptation to make questionable jokes about the name. It’s too easy, and I am above that, I tell you. 

Nut sack (snicker).

Drink Florida Craft, 

Dave

@floridabeerblog

Floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Floridacraftbeerday.com 

Leave a Reply

