Brew Review – Breakfast Brown Ale by Ormond Brewing @ormond_brewing

​In terms of adjuncts, coffee tends to be king. Everyone has a coffee beer, and the ones I’ve been lucky enough to try tend to be pretty tasty.

Most breweries I keep an eye on are starting to locally source their coffee, too. It makes perfect sense, having local brewers get their coffee from local roasters, an industry that is starting to explode as well. I’m not sure who supplies the coffee to Ormond Brewing, but the coffee used in Ormond’s Breakfast Brown Ale (Brown Ale, 5.3% ABV) definitely never left Volusia County. 

<!–more–>

This beer doesn’t really leave the county, either. Sure, Ormond’s bombers are starting to get widespread, but Breakfast Brown (and the other Ormond Brewing cans) doesn’t seem to leave a small distribution area. 

I grabbed some while swinging through the area, and I’m glad I did, because this is easily one of my favorite brown ales in the state. It’s got just the right amount of malty, bready goodness, with a light caramel and nutty flavor. It’s nowhere near heavy, but still have a great flavor. 

And yes, there’s that locally roasted Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee that swims around the beer, deepening the flavor and rounding out the incredibly tasty beer. I can’t say I would have it for breakfast, but the beer is good and I was happy to get my hands on it. 

And it’s local. Drink local. 

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave

@floridabeerblog

Floridabeerblog.com

Floridacraftbeerday.com

Leave a Reply

