Brew Review – Lightning Lager by 81 Bay Brewing

Now here’s a brew review I didn’t think I’d be writing for some time. 

It’s not that 81 Bay isn’t good (they are). It’s not that I haven’t been (I have). And it’s not that they don’t have the capability of producing and distributing to a wide area of Florida (I’m sure they do). 

But they just opened, so it was a bit of a pleasant surprise to see that my local Lucky’s nabbed a keg of Lightning Lager (Light Lager, 3.7% ABV, 20 IBU).

On my visit to 81 Bay some time ago, brewmaster Stephen Foster gave me a taste of the newer recipe for Lightning Lager, very similar to what I drank while my daughter and I shopped for produce. 

That, dear readers, is a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon. The beer is infinitely sessionable, with a light straw color and a biscuity nose. 

The flavor is still there, however. It’s got a great malt quality that is easy to drink, with a light earthy hoppiness that brings more flavor than it does for bitterness. Lightning Lager is incredibly refreshing and a great way to introduce people down here to everything coming out of 81 Bay. 

Now, can we get some more, please? And let me know so it isn’t that much of a surprise next time. 

Drink Florida Craft, 

Dave

@floridabeerblog

floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

