Brew Review – Key to Summer by Copperpoint Brewing @copperpointbrew

It wasn’t until I started writing this blog that I had heard a lot of the Kolsch. Originating from Cologne, Germany, this beer is very similar to a Pilsner, but lessening the hop profile while keeping the sweetness of the traditional Pilsner grain bill. 

Naturally, I love them. Fantastic beers, nice, light, and sweet. And now everyone is making them, so they tend to be all over the place all of a sudden. But no one’s treating them, from what I’ve seen. 

Copperpoint Brewing in Boynton Beach is, however. I got a nice, big growler of Key to Summer (Kolsch, 5% ABV), a beer with a touch of Florida Orange Blossom honey and a bigger touch of key lime. 

It is almost completely and perfectly summery and incredibly delicious. You have that light and slightly sweet malt base, almost no seriously brutal hoppiness, and a great, tart, fruitiness from the lime. It’s instantly refreshing, very easy to session, and wonderfully flavorful. 

Plus, it’s a kolsch. Great style on its own, and now just a bit better. Good thing for me that I can find more like this around. 

Drink Florida Craft, 

Dave

@floridabeerblog

floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Leave a comment