Brew Review – Iguana Bait by Florida Keys Brewing with GroovyGuyGifts.com

On occasion, people reach out to me asking if can review their products. Ordinarily I am hesitant to immediately agree, but I was recently reached out to Joe Debicella, the owner of GroovyGuyGifts.com, wanting me to take a look at the products that are on his website.

I can definitely say I’m very glad I did.

GroovyGuyGifts.com is a very awesome repository for gifts centered on normal guy interests. There’s a lot of cooler bags and beer essentials, in addition to plenty of other interesting things that are great (especially for groomsmen, hint hint).

I ended up getting the Combat Cooler, camo green, and the blog’s initials were even stitched on the side. If you follow me on Instagram, you’ve seen this bag before, and I have used it several times now to carry growlers and crowlers to and from where I need to go.

I’m very happy to say that it works extremely well. I usually just throw the beers in there with a bag of ice, and it keeps the beers extra cold for as long as I need them to stay cold. On both occasions the ice that I’ve put in there as leaked and opened (a fault of the baggie that I use, not the cooler).

I’m very happy to say that the water did not go anywhere, and did not leak out of the bag at all. That sucker kept everything in their right where I needed it. There’s even a small pouch on front and a little bottle opener on the strap, for easy opening.

It was because of all of thsi that I had to enlist my Combat Cooler for getting a fresh growler of Florida Keys Brewing’s Iguana Bait (Kolsch, 5.2% ABV, 21 IBU), a beautifully blended mix of a Kolsch with local Florida Keys honey and hibiscus flowers.

Color-wise, it pours in almost rosy color. Yeah, it’s orange, but there’s a good amount of pink in that color. The aroma definitely speaks to the hibiscus the most. It’s a very tropical, floral nose with a sweetness of orange that just carries the honey at the very end.

Tasting it, the honey is most prevalent. And it’s a honey flavor so fresh, it almost feels that there is a honeycomb in the keg. The hibiscus comes in later, with a trademark tartness that still has a garden fresh quality about it.

In all, those adjuncts play very nicely together and you get an instantly refreshing and nicely sweet, but not overdone beer. If you’re looking for hops or an overly saccharine malt bill, this is not that beer.

If you need a great, drinkable Florida beer to fill up the awesome cooler you just got from GroovyGuyGifts.com, this is definitely the one for you.

Drink Florida Craft,
Dave
@floridabeerblog
floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Listen to the Florida Beer Podcast – Powered by Florida Beer Blog on Anchor, Google Podcasts, Spotify, Stitcher, Breaker, and more!

Order the official “Drink Florida Craft” shirt from Florida Beer Blog here.
Use code FLABEERGUY18 for 10% off!

Leave a comment