Our 10th Anniversary with St. Pete Beach Blonde Ale by 3 Daughters

Today is the 10th anniversary of Florida Beer Blog!

What started as a silly little hobby on a trip has grown to a significantly larger silly little hobby with over 1,400 individual posts, a podcast with over 150 episodes, and a large backlog of beers to drink, people to talk to, and content to release.

While I may not be at the level of something like Beer Advocate, I appreciate everybody that has come in and taken a look, enjoying the blog even for an article or two.

The truth is, I never anticipated anyone would really take notice, especially in the craft beer industry. But somehow the word has gotten around, and the first to reach out all those years ago was St. Petersburg-based 3 Daughters.

I can even remember the first 3 Daughters beer I had. It would eventually be renamed Rod Bender Red, and I had it on draft at San Sebastian Winery in St. Augustine. After that article was published, they reached out to thank me and tell me a little more about their brewery.

That was when I realized maybe I could go deeper with the posts and eventually the podcast.

I don’t have any Rod Bender Red with me to celebrate with, so I figured it would be a great time to celebrate with the beer that keeps the lights on for them, Beach Blonde Ale (Blonde Ale, 5% ABV).

I have spent so much of the past 10 years chasing the new, the different, and the limited, that I will readily forget about the basics. Enjoying this beer for our anniversary has shown me that sometimes I need to revisit those basics, because they are popular for a reason.

Beach Blonde is such a classic and easy to drink beer. The name is as described, with a beautiful golden blonde hue and a nice crisp, see-through clarity.

The aroma is amazingly nice and fluffy and bready and crisp, with maybe a little honey in there.

The flavor is absolutely perfect, as it has an amazing malt sweetness which is very noticeable, but not overly crazy. Very little bitterness, with a nice gentle Noble hopping, and a touch of lemon and a touch of honey way, way deep on the back end.

It is light, it is readily inviting, and it is essentially the perfect beach beer.

In the future, I plan on staying the course and in doing exactly what I have been doing. I am definitely proud of the work I have done and the things I have been able to write about, and I hope to be doing it for another 10 years or more.

Just please do me a favor and don’t actually read any of the really early articles. Those aren’t very good.

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave
@floridabeerblog
floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Looking for more great Florida beer content? Browse all of our latest posts and podcast episodes, or follow us on some of our social media.

Listen to the Florida Beer Podcast – Powered by Florida Beer Blog on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify, and more.

Get 10% off a new beer mini fridge from NewAir with code FLORIDABEER.

One thought on “Our 10th Anniversary with St. Pete Beach Blonde Ale by 3 Daughters

  1. Pingback: 400 Outstanding Craft Beer Breweries in Florida | floridarambler.com

Leave a comment