Brew Review – Circle Hook by 3 Daughters @3DBrewing

I’m not sure why, but a circle hook just sounds that much more painful.

If you remember some weeks ago, I reviewed Double Hook by 3 Daughters Brewing. If you’ve seen their beers, there is a distinct fishing theme to a lot of them, from their core beers (Rod Bender Red, anyone?) to some of their seasonal releases.

The problem for me is I am deathly afraid of hooks, because my ham hands will not have one casually in my palm as much as immediately in my fingers. So there we are, with most of the releases from 3 Daughters making me cringe a little bit when I think of the inspiration behind the names.

Such as Circle Hook (Hazy IPA, 6.9% ABV, 30 IBU). Fun beer, scary name.

As a hazy, the newest addition to what is fast becoming a required style in craft beer, it hits all the right specs of light clarity and golden straw color. The aroma definitely favors a milky, citrusy hop, just a bit on the bitter side, but not too excessively so.

The flavor straddles the line between a truly juicy IPA that is all fruit and no bitterness and a West Coast IPA which is all bitterness and no fruit. You get a touch of pineapple, grapefruit, lemon, and tangerine, but it’s backed up with a solid resin quality that is bold and brassy and noticeable, without being too overpowering.

It’s a solid beer, and fits right in with the hop heavy tendencies of the Tampa Bay area. Not unlike how a hook will be fitting into my flesh if I touch it, which is why I generally avoid them as much as I can.

Drink Florida Craft,

Dave
@floridabeerblog
floridabeerblog@gmail.com

Florida Beer Blog is a part of Florida Beer Media. Find us at FloridaBeerMedia.com.

Listen to the Florida Beer Podcast – Powered by Florida Beer Blog on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Spotify, Stitcher, and more!

One thought on “Brew Review – Circle Hook by 3 Daughters @3DBrewing

  1. Pingback: Brew Review – Circle Hook by 3 Daughters @3DBrewing – Pasco Thrive Initiative

Leave a comment